New Year’s Resolutions Tag

I watched a video the other day (linked below) which prompted me to write about my book resolutions. I wonder how many I will stick to!

Question 1: Name an author that you haven’t previously read that you would like to read this year

I’d like to read something by Robert Galbraith (aka J.K. Rowling). I currently have “A Cuckoo’s Calling” which is the first of her Crime Novels out from the library.

Question 2: Name a book you would like to read this year

“The Murder Wall” by Mari Hannah. Another author who’s novels I haven’t read, however I’ve met her on several occasions and someone that interesting and funny has to write good fiction!

Question 3: Name a classic you would like to read this year

I’m not a huge fan of classics. The only classic I have on my bookshelf which I haven’t yet read is a modern one – “The Book Thief” by Marcus Zusak. At around 550 pages the length has me a little nervous!

Question 4: Name a book you would like to re-read this year

I tend not to re-read books, however I may re-read “Divergent” by Veronica Roth (see Q10).

Question 5: Name a book you have owned for ages and would like to read this year

“No Time for Goodbye” by Linwood Barclay – again, an author who’s on my shelf that I’ve not read! Heard some good reviews though!

Question 6: Name a big book you’d like to read

“American Gods” by Neil Gaiman – 635 pages!! Terrifying, but I’ve heard rumours it’s coming to either film or tv, and I like to read the book first, when possible.

Question 7: Name an author whom you’ve read and would like to read more from this year

I’m a huge fan of Agatha Christie – and I still haven’t read all the books I already own by her!

Question 8: Name a book you got for Christmas that you’d like to read

I usually don’t get books for Christmas, however this year I got “The Girl who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of her own Making” by Catherynne M. Valente, so I’d like to read that.

Question 9: Name a series that you’d like to read from start to finish this year

One of my last purchases before Christmas was the “Mortal Instruments Series” by Cassandra Clare – it was on offer and I’ve heard good things about it.

Question 10: Name a series that you would like to finish this year that you have already started

I’d like to complete the “Divergent” series by Veronica Roth – I read “Divergent” when the film was out, but never completed it. I may go back and re-read it to refresh my memory (as per Q4).

Question 11: How many books would you like to read this year?

I’m aiming for 70.

Question 12: Do you have any other reading goals for this year?

I would like to mostly read from my bookshelves instead of buying books or borrowing from the library.

The original video that inspired this post

Leave a Reply

