What I read in January

January has been a bit of a slow reading month. I haven’t read as many as I would have liked, mostly as I’ve had a couple of books I haven’t enjoyed towards the end of the month, and a couple of really long books!

The Truth And Other Lies by Sascha Arango
From the outside, Henry Hayden has a perfect life: he’s a famous novelist with more money than he can spend, a grand house in the country, a loyal, clever wife. But Henry has a dark side. If only the readers and critics who worship his every word knew that his success depends on a carefully maintained lie. One he will stop at nothing to protect. His luck must surely run out, and he simply can’t allow that to happen.

In thrall to paranoia and self-interest, Henry makes a fatal error that could cause the whole dream to unravel and, despite his Machiavellian efforts, events swiftly spin out of control.

I gave this book a 2* rating. It was an easy read that I got through quite quickly, however none of the characters were likeable, and the plot was quite confusing at times. I enjoyed the second half more so than the first. I did feel, as this was meant to be a German humour crime I missed the point on several occasions!

Closed Casket by Sophie Hannah (New Hercule Poirot Mysteries)
Lady Athelinda Playford has planned a house party at her mansion in Clonakilty, County Cork, but it is no ordinary gathering. As guests arrive, Lady Playford summons her lawyer to make an urgent change to her will – one she intends to announce at dinner that night. She has decided to cut off her two children without a penny and leave her fortune to someone who has only weeks to live….

Among Lady Playford’s guests are two men she has never met – the famous Belgian detective Hercule Poirot and Inspector Edward Catchpool of Scotland Yard. Neither knows why he has been invited…until Poirot starts to wonder if Lady Playford expects a murderer to strike.

I gave this book a 5* rating. I really enjoyed it – I was gripped throughout.

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
After rescuing her lover Tamlin from a wicked Faerie Queen, she returns to the Spring Court possessing the powers of the High Fae. But Feyre cannot forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people – nor the bargain she made with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court.

As Feyre is drawn ever deeper into Rhysand’s dark web of politics and passion, war is looming and an evil far greater than any queen threatens to destroy everything Feyre has fought for. She must confront her past, embrace her gifts and decide her fate.

I gave this book a 4* rating. The second book in the Court of Thorns and Roses series. For me, the size of this book was intimidating, which is why it took me so long to read it. Once it got going, it was a really exciting storyline. As there was not too much romance in the first book, I was not expecting so much in the second. I’m not so much a fan of steamy romance novels so this put me off, although I will still continue on with the third as the plot has me intrigued.

Acid by Emma Pass
The year is 2113. In Jenna Strong’s world, ACID—the most brutal controlling police force in history—rule supreme. No throwaway comment or whispered dissent goes unnoticed—or unpunished. And it was ACID agents who locked Jenna away for life, for a horrendous crime she struggles to remember. But Jenna’s violent prison time has taught her how to survive by any means necessary.
When a mysterious rebel group breaks her out, she must use her strength, speed, and skill to stay one step ahead of ACID, and try to uncover the truth about what really happened on that terrible night two years ago. They have taken her life, her freedom, and her true memories away from her. How can she reclaim anything when she doesn’t know who to trust?

I gave this book a 5* rating. I have not read many YA UK authors and I was really impressed with this one. It was thrilling and I could not wait to see how Jenna stayed 1 step ahead of the authorities.

The Witches Kiss by Katharine and Elizabeth Corr
Sixteeen-year-old Meredith is fed-up with her feuding family and feeling invisible at school – not to mention the witch magic that shoots out of her fingernails when she’s stressed. Then sweet, sensitive Jack comes into her life and she falls for him hard. The only problem is that he is periodically possessed by a destructive centuries-old curse. Meredith has lost her heart, but will she also lose her life? Or in true fairytale tradition, can true love’s kiss save the day?

I gave this book a 2* review. This has been so hyped on various blogs and videos I was expecting this to be an exciting book. I knew it was a romance, but expected there to be far more action than there actually was. I will not be continuing the series.

I have started The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith. It’s not going so well either!

Leave a Reply

