BLOG TOUR: The Beekeeper by Stewart Giles

Picture1

The Blurb from the book:

A shocking discovery starts a trail of mayhem on the Cornish coast.
Alice Green is a beekeeper in the small Cornish village of Polgarrow. One evening, Alice finds something strange under the hollyhock bush in her garden.  The gruesome discovery will change everyone’s lives.
Detective Harriet Taylor has just transferred to the area from Edinburgh. As she investigates a series of shocking crimes, she grows close to the old beekeeper and is determined to bring the murderer to justice.
A crime mystery with a streak of black humour. You’ll enjoy this fast-paced and dark unearthing of the underbelly of a sleepy Cornish village.

**I received a proof copy of The Beekeeper from Joffe Books in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own**

 

Picture2

 

My thoughts:

The story follows two main characters, Alice Green, the beekeeper of the title, who has lived in the village for a very long time, and Detective Harriet Taylor, who is newly promoted and has only recently moved to the area. It is set in a sleepy Cornish village. There are a small cast of characters, which makes the plot easy to follow.

It is a well-paced plot, a page turner, but not too fast. Having lived in a sleepy village myself, the setting was right and felt believable.

I particularly liked the character of Harriet, I found her well-rounded and well written. If she was real, I could certainly see me being a friend of hers! The smaller characters were all well thought out and added to the plot.

I did really enjoy the book as it felt very like a Midsomer Murders episode – not a specific episode – just a similar overall feel, the main difference being that with the book being set in Cornwall, the sea views were mentioned. My only slight disappointment was I had worked out the whodunnit about two thirds of the way through – but not the why or how dunnit.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys either Midsomer Murders or Miss Marple, and overall, I’d give it 4.5* (0.5 point deducted as I worked out the whodunnit).

 

Picture3

 

Author Bio:

After reading English & Drama at three different English Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling and finally ended up in South Africa, where I still live. I enjoy the serene life running a boat shop on the banks of the Vaal Dam. I came up with the DS Jason Smith idea after my wife dropped a rather large speaker on my head. Whether it was intentional remains a mystery. Smith, the first in the series was finished in September 2013 and was closely followed by Boomerang and Ladybird. Occam’s Razor, Harlequin and Phobia (a series of short stories detailing Smith’s early life) were all completed in one hazy 365 days and Selene was done and dusted a few months later. Horsemen, the seventh in the DS Smith thriller series is out now. The Beekeeper, a departure from the DS Smith series was released through Joffe Books on 22 May.

One thought on “BLOG TOUR: The Beekeeper by Stewart Giles

Leave a Reply

