What I read in May

May was a good reading month. I read a total of 8 books. Sewing the Shadows Together by Alison Bailie and The Beekeeper by  have been reviewed here on my blog. I have a review and a Q&A with the author of Revenge of the Malakim still to come.

The Beekeeper by Stewart Giles was definitely my book of the month. I flew through it, and was gripped from page 1. It was closely followed by Revenge of The Malakim by Paul Harrison – the only thing stopping it being joint top of the list was it was a little too gory for my taste. As mentioned previously, I’ll be doing a review and a Q&A with the author at some point.

I was inspired to restart and make more of an effort with my blog by several authors and bloggers during the Newcastle Noir festival at the end of April. One of the authors I had a good chat with was Alison Bailie, and I made her a promise hers would be the first book I’d blog about.

One Man, One Murder by Jakob Arjouni was this month’s pick for my European Crime fiction group. It was my least favourite book of the month (and as it happened, most of my group agreed with me). It’s about a PI who is sent to look for a kidnapped illegal Thai prostitute.

I caught up on 3 of James Patterson’s “Private” series as they were all in the library. I’m definitely not enjoying them as much as I used to. Helen Smith’s “Beyond Belief” was a random pick from my TBR, which I enjoyed, but felt it was more aimed at an American audience. The concept was good – a PI trying to prevent a murder at a psychic conference, but sadly it didn’t work for me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

