Review and Q&A – Revenge of the Malakim by Paul Harrison @PHarrisonauthor @WillandWhiting

34533176

About the book:

It’s high summer and the streets of Bridlington East Yorkshire are awash with tourists. A serial killer is on the loose. DCI Will Scott and his team embark upon a fast-paced investigation to catch a killer with a unique agenda. As the body count rises the killer randomly moves location and the police are unwittingly drawn into a dark and sinister world where cover-ups and corruption reigns. A place where no one can truly be trusted and nothing is ever what it seems.

My thoughts:

I took to this book straight away. It had me gripped from page one! I loved the main character, DCI Scott, who was believable as a cop who not only cares about his work, but also takes time out for his family. I enjoyed the procedural nature of the book, and whilst I found the murder scenes too gory for my taste, I thought that the subject matter was overall covered tastefully. I would give it 4*/5* – it would have been the full 5 but I had to knock a star off for gore factor!

A Q&A With Paul Harrison:

1) Most of your books are non-fiction. What made you decide to move into fiction?

I’ve written mostly true crime books, which is an interesting subject, why people kill and what are the drivers behind their actions. I’ve been fortunate, (maybe unfortunate), to hold face to face interviews, with most of the UK’s ‘more modern’ serial killers, and with many in the USA too.

It’s going to sound bizarre, but it actually gets boring interviewing these people after a while. Hearing the same ‘I was a child victim of abuse’ mantra repeated over and over. The thing with serial killers, most led quiet non eventful lives before their infamy, so intrinsically, they are relatively uninteresting people.  I was searching for, what doesn’t exist, the key to what makes a serial killer. They aren’t special or super intelligent, not at all, they have egos borne of years of incarceration, they like the fact that people remain interested in them.

So, because it doesn’t really exist, I wanted to create my own fictional serial killers. Genuinely evil people who understand boundaries, but don’t keep to them.

2) What are your favourite (and least favourite) things about being an author?

My favourite thing about being an author, is meeting so many interesting people, readers and fellow writers. I enjoy that interaction immensely, I value and respect the opinions and thoughts of all my readers. Also, working from home is good, but it can be lonely when the book is in writing process.

3) Do you have a writing routine?

My writing routine varies, it’s dependent upon my mood, the weather, my German Shepherd dogs, and whether Leeds United have won.  I am disciplined and tend to commit to more than eight hours writing a day. When it’s something you enjoy and love doing, it makes it easier to commit to.

4) What’s next for DCI Will Scott and the team?

Well, there is this trilogy. This will be followed by a unique Christmas special, out closer to December this year. Hopefully if I’m retained by my publishers at Williams & Whiting there will be an ongoing series of books, covering a vast array of criminal investigations into crimes macabre.

Paul Harrison colour

About the author:

Paul Harrison is a retired police officer, with a successful career that spanned three decades.  During that time, he worked on some memorable high profile investigations, and interviewed countless criminals who operated within the darker side of humanity.  Paul began writing and had his first book published during his time in the police.  Since then, he has gone on to write 34 books, mainly in the field of true crime.  Now he has turned all that experience into writing crime fiction. On retiring from the police, he spent time working with the English Judiciary, at the Royal Courts of Justice, London.  During which time, he gained what he describes as ‘an eye -opening insight’ into what really happens behind the scenes of a criminal trial or civil hearing. He’s passionate about writing, and his first crime fiction novel trilogy is based on genuine experience. It is the first in a series of books that will feature lead detective, DCI Will Scott, and his trusted sidekick, DI Daisy Wright.  This crime fighting duo will, throughout the series, find themselves not only investigating mysterious murders, but embroiled in the world of police, legal and establishment corruption also.

One thought on “Review and Q&A – Revenge of the Malakim by Paul Harrison @PHarrisonauthor @WillandWhiting

Leave a Reply

