Blog Tour – A Deadly Game, by Joanne Griffiths @Tazer129 @Bloodhoundbook @sarahhardy681

Blog Tour (2)

About the book:

Kate Palmer, an undergraduate student, discovers that she is pregnant and makes the decision to drop out of university. However, on the evening before she returns home, her body is discovered in Aston park. She is the first victim of several murders that will rock the city of Birmingham.

Detective Sergeant James “Jim” Wardell, who has his own issues to contend with, is given the case.

When Eddie Carter, a popular talk show host on Birmingham’s Radio Station, is contacted by someone claiming to be the killer, it is the start of a cat and mouse game between a deranged killer and the police.

After a second body is discovered the pressure mounts on the police to capture the man responsible.

Who is killing these women and why?

Can Jim capture the twisted killer before more innocent women are murdered?

DeadlyGame Avignon+Book D30000 darken

My thoughts:

At the very beginning of the book, we are introduced to Kate, a University student, who has fallen on hard times. She has made the difficult decision to give up on her studies ad return home, however before she makes the call she has one last attempt at making money by prostitution. By the end of the night she is found dead.

The Detective Superintendent handling the case, James “Jim” Wardell, is a likeable fellow who gets on well with his colleagues. He is more than willing to put in the extra time as it soon becomes apparent that Kate is the first in a string of murders.

Eddie Carter, the local radio talk show host, starts to receive letters from the killer. He decides against broadcasting the notes and passes them straight to the Police.

We are also introduced to the killer, known as “He” throughout the novel. He is abusing his wife Alison, and some of the violent scenes are disturbing as Alison is expecting their second child for most of the novel. Their first, a child named Emily, is luckily too young to understand.

What I really liked about this book was that as well as the main characters named above, the story follows the impact on the family of the victims and gives each victim something of a back story. This is not something I’ve seen before.

I enjoyed the cat and mouse game between the killer and Jim Wardell. It was a thrilling book, and I read it very quickly. I would definitely recommend it – and I’m hoping it will become the first in a series!

Overall, I gave this one a full 5 stars!

received_462191193954283-1

About the author, Joanne Griffiths

I was hooked on crime fiction after reading an Agatha Christie novel when I was a teenager. I loved the way the story unfolded, trying to work out the plot before the reveal.

Since reading that first book, my dream of becoming a writer would often take centre stage over the years and I would spend some time working on my manuscript before the idea was shelved again. 

Time was often a factor. As a single parent with two young children, I returned to studying, completing a BSc (Hons) with the Open University. After graduating, I worked with SEN children who were at risk of exclusion from main stream school due to behavioural problems. I then spent several years with children outside of the school system, which kept me busy. 

Following a serious health issue in 2014 though, I began to focus on what I still wanted to achieve and the desire to become a writer featured highly again. Dusting off my manuscript, I finally finished A Deadly Game and I am currently working on my second novel.

If I’m not writing, I enjoy reading and always have a book on the go. I also enjoy watching many of the police / detective / thriller series on television, still trying to work out the plot before the story’s conclusion. 

Links:

Twitter:  @Tazer129
https://www.facebook.com/JJGAuthor/

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour – A Deadly Game, by Joanne Griffiths @Tazer129 @Bloodhoundbook @sarahhardy681

Leave a Reply

