Blog Tour – No Exit, by Taylor Adams #GuestPost @Tadamsauthor @JoffeBooks @Books_n_all

Today I’m really excited to be on the Blog Tour for Taylor Adams new novel, “No Exit”, which was released on 27th June.

Blog Tour Banner - No Exit

About the Book:

ONE OF THE TENSEST, MOST GRIPPING THRILLERS YOU WILL EVER READ. FROM TAYLOR ADAMS, UK AND US BEST-SELLING AUTHOR.

A kidnapped little girl locked in a stranger’s van. No help for miles. What would you do?

Darby Thorne is a college student stranded by a blizzard at a highway rest stop in the middle of nowhere. She’s on the way home to see her sick mother. She’ll have to spend the night in the rest stop with four complete strangers. Then she stumbles across a little girl locked inside one of their parked cars.

There is no cell phone reception, no telephone, no way out because of the snow, and she doesn’t know which one of the other travelers is the kidnapper.

Full of shocking twists and turns, this beautifully written novel will have you on the edge of your seat. 

Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, or Stephen King.

Who is the little girl? Why has she been taken? And how can Darby save her?

TAYLOR is the author of EYESHOT and OUR LAST NIGHT.

Cover

I’ve not yet had a chance to read this thrilling book, but luckily Taylor has given some inside information to the book:

NO CHOICE, NO EXIT by Taylor Adams

I love suspense. As a reader and a viewer, I’m always searching for that buzz, that tug-of-war between terror and exhilaration. It’s what attracted me to storytelling ever since I was a too-young kid caught up in the fever-pitch intensity of James Cameron’s Aliens. NO EXIT, releasing on July 1, is my attempt to write a “pure” thriller. It’s about a college student named Darby who stumbles across a kidnapped child at a snowed-in rest stop… and decides she must intervene.

It’s a violent story, but I also tried to practice some restraint. I worked hard to properly develop the fear and uncertainty of being trapped in close quarters with a kidnapper. Even after Darby has identified the villain (and he’s identified her), the uniquely tense situation forces them to first sit down and talk to each other. That was a fun scene to write! By contrast, my 2014 debut novel EYESHOT involved a pretty gory death early on, and that can be an effective shock, but a story’s first major death is like spending a coin – you can only spend it once. This time around, I hope I’ve built a better atmosphere of menace. When the blood, broken necks, and severed fingers finally come out, the stage has already been carefully set and the stakes are appropriately high.

Another thing I’ve tried to do better is handle the reader’s expectation for a happy ending. Certain savvy readers had guessed in EYESHOT that the heroes would still somehow survive (in much the same way that Keanu Reeves clearly won’t blow up at the end of Speed). It’s a fair point. So with NO EXIT I made this goal: for the unlikely heroine to always be in tangible danger, and for her survival to be in question right up until the very last page. The story’s climax teases a bit as it unfolds, and some of the twists are downright cruel. As an advance reviewer noted on Goodreads: “Don’t miss the epilogue!”

The fun of crafting suspense aside, all of my projects need an emotional hook for me to stay interested in them. I’m easily distracted! There has to be some primal, gut-level feeling for me to stick with it, and for NO EXIT, it was the simple moral resonance of doing the right thing. Darby is a flawed young woman with her own problems, but she chooses to intervene. Not because she’s particularly well-

prepared or tough, but because it’s the right thing to do. And I think the world has more people like Darby than we may think. Most people are simply (and fortunately) never thrust into situations that reveal their true courage. As Mr. Rogers once said, “look for the helpers.” There’s evil in the world, but there’s also an ocean of unseen good ready to answer it: tenacious, resourceful, and hiding in plain sight.

To me, Darby is the quintessential Good Samaritan. On a snowy night in Colorado, two days from Christmas, she witnesses evil and chooses to fight it. Because to her, it’s not a choice at all.

It’s just what some people do.

taylor adams author photo

About the author:

Taylor Adams directed the acclaimed short film And I Feel Fine in 2008 and graduated from Eastern Washington University with the Excellence in Screenwriting Award and the prestigious Edmund G. Yarwood Award. His work has been selected by the Seattle True Independent Film Festival and his movie reviews have appeared on KAYU-TV’s Fox Life blog. He has worked in the film/television industry for several years and lives in Washington state with his girlfriend Jaclyn and their chihuahua, cat, and python. EYESHOT is Adams’ debut novel. Film and audio rights have been sold.

https://twitter.com/tadamsauthor

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour – No Exit, by Taylor Adams #GuestPost @Tadamsauthor @JoffeBooks @Books_n_all

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s