Blog Tour – Buried on The Fens, by Joy Ellis #GuestPost @JoffeBooks

I’m pleased to be wrapping up the Blog Tour for Joy Ellis’ new book, “Buried on The Fens”

Blog Tour Banner

About the Book:

A SKELETON IS UNEARTHED FROM A SHALLOW GRAVE IN THE CHURCHYARD. BUT THIS WAS NOT AN OFFICIAL BURIAL. THE VICTIM WAS MURDERED DECADES AGO.

At the same time, Detective Nikki Galena and her team are investigating the brutal slaying of local businesswoman Madeline Prospero. She was a member of an exclusive and secretive drinking club called The Briar Patch. But they’ve got no suspects and no one is telling them the truth.

Meanwhile, the buried skeleton leads them on a trail to the village of Quintin Eaudyke. This is a troubled place. In the late seventies and eighties a reign of terror and abuse was unleashed on the close-knit population.

When more women from the The Briar Patch come under threat, Nikki faces a race against time to stop the killing.
Full of twists and turns, this is a crime thriller that will keep you turning the pages until the heart-stopping ending.

THE DETECTIVE
DI Nikki Galena: A police detective with nothing left to lose, she’s seen a girl die in her arms and her own family destroyed. She’s tough on criminals but fiercely loyal to her team.

HER PARTNER
DS Joseph Easter is the squeaky-clean new member of the team. But his nickname “Holy Joe” belies his former life as a soldier. He has a daughter and an ex-wife who wants his attention.

THE SETTING
The Lincolnshire Fens: great open skies brood over marshes, farmland, and nature reserves. It is not easy terrain for the Fenland Constabulary to police, due to the distances between some of the remote Fen villages, the dangerous and often misty lanes, and the poor telephone coverage. There are still villages where the oldest residents have never set foot outside their own farmland and a visit to the nearest town is a major event. But it has a strange airy beauty to it, and above it all are the biggest skies you’ve ever seen.

DISCOVER YOUR NEXT FAVOURITE MYSTERY SERIES NOW
Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

NIKKI GALENA SERIES
Book 1: CRIME ON THE FENS
Book 2: SHADOW OVER THE FENS
Book 3: HUNTED ON THE FENS
Book 4: KILLER ON THE FENS
Book 5: STALKER ON THE FENS
Book 6: CAPTIVE ON THE FENS
Book 7: BURIED ON THE FENS

Autumn sunset.

Guest Post: How the story came together, by Joy Ellis

My writing is generally what they call organic. Bit like compost, tip it all in and hope that what comes out will be useful! I get a very small idea about something, just a “what if?” moment. Then I pass it over to my characters and see what they think. As soon as Nikki or Jackman say, “We have a case”, I start work.

In this book I wanted to link the past with the present, and frankly have always wanted to start a book in a graveyard, although that probably comes from a miss spent childhood trying to smuggle copies of ‘Tales from the Crypt’ into my bedroom. As soon as a history started to evolve, Nikki took over and the book more or less wrote itself.

For the up to date side of the story I  felt that I wanted to explain that even now, not every gay man or woman has an easy passage through life. It is widely believed that in a modern society that accepts such a lot, being gay would no longer be an issue… but that is rarely the case, especially in areas of work that were up until fairly recently, male dominated, like the police force. I have quite strong views about people being judged on their qualities and the way they conduct their lives, not for their religious or political beliefs, or their sexual orientation. And the last of those three is a very small part of one’s life, and I believe that it is the whole person that really counts. I am no radical, and I rarely voice an opinion openly, but as a young woman I grew up with such intolerance, ignorance and misunderstanding, that sometimes I wonder how I came through it.

Hence the story line.

Author Biography:

Joy Ellis photo 2

Joy Ellis grew up in Kent but moved to London when she won an apprenticeship with the prestigious Mayfair flower shop, Constance Spry Ltd. 
Many years later, having run her own florist shop in Weybridge, Ellis took part in a writer’s workshop in Greece and was encouraged by her tutor, Sue Townsend to begin writing seriously. She now lives in the Lincolnshire Fens with her partner Jacqueline and their Springer spaniels, Woody and Alfie.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour – Buried on The Fens, by Joy Ellis #GuestPost @JoffeBooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s