Blog Tour – Dead to Me, by Stephen Edger #Review @StephenEdger @bookouture

Today I’m delighted to be reviewing Stephen Edger’s novel, “Dead to Me”, as part of the blog tour.

Dead to me Blog Tour

About the Book:

How do you catch a killer who knows your every move?

The woman lay flat on the table, her face to one side, her wrists bound with thick tape. Deep scratches marked the wood beneath her fingers, now resting cold and still…

When a woman’s body is found in an abandoned bar near the Southampton docks, Detective Kate Matthews is called in to lead the investigation. She must solve this case to prove she is coping with the death of a close colleague.

Kate knows a pile of ripped up newspaper cuttings discovered at the victim’s house must be a piece of the puzzle, but her team keep hitting dead-ends… Until she finds a disturbing clue that convinces her of three things: The murder is linked to the body of a man found hanging in a warehouse, she is on the hunt for a calculated serial killer, and the killer is watching her every move.

Kate realises there will be another victim soon, and that her own life is in grave danger, but no one else believes her theory. Can she find and stop the most twisted killer of her career, before another life is lost?

An absolutely NAIL-BITING thriller that will keep you guessing to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, James Patterson and MJ Arlidge.

Dead-To-Me-Kindle

My thoughts:

This is the first in a series about Detective Kate Matthews. She’s recently been moved to the Southampton branch after an incident in London. She’s stepping into the shoes of a not long dead colleague and is struggling to gain the respect of the team.

The story starts with a body found in a burnt warehouse. Kate is initially put on the case, however is soon moved to deal with something a murder that her Superintendent feels is more up her street. She soon feels that the cases are linked, but will anyone listen to her? And who is the mysterious stranger who keeps sending her anonymous information about the case?

I immediately took to the character of Kate Matthews. She’s a likeable, believable character who is desperate to make a good impression. She reminded me a lot of M.J. Arlidge’s Helen Grace – someone who is willing to break the rules to get the job done!

I found the story slow paced at first, but the speed did pick up. There were many red herrings and plot twists before the murderer was finally revealed – the final few chapters had me gripped!

I gave this book a 4* review – I took points away for the slow beginning – but it is definitely worth the read, and I look forward to reading Kate’s next case!

*Many thanks to the team at Bookouture and the Author for the free review copy in exchange for an honest review*

About the Author:

Stephen Edger Profile photo (b&w)

Stephen Edger is a British crime writer, who has been writing since 2010. In that time he has written and published eleven novels, and five short stories. He writes mysteries and thrillers focused on crime.

Stephen was born in the north-east of England, grew up in London, but has lived in Southampton since attending university in the year 2000. Stephen works in the financial industry, and uses his insider knowledge to create the plots of his books. He also has a law degree, which gives him a good understanding of the inner workings of the UK justice system.

Stephen is married, and has two children, and two dogs. He is passionate about reading and writing, and cites Simon Kernick and John Grisham as major influences on his writing style.

Links:

Buy the book – Amazon UK

Buy the book – Amazon USA

Website

Twitter

Facebook

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s