Blog Tour – The Fourth Friend, by Joy Ellis #Review @JoffeBooks

I’m thrilled to be kicking off the Blog Tour for Joy Ellis’ new novel, “The Fourth Friend”.

BLOG TOUR BANNER

About the Book:

From #1 best-selling author Joy Ellis, a mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Police detective Carter McLean is the only survivor of a plane crash that kills his four best friends. He returns to work but he is left full of guilt and terrible flashbacks. For each of his four friends he decides to complete a task that they left unfinished.

Eighteen months before the crash, Suzanne Holland disappeared, leaving a room with traces of blood, but no other leads. Suzanne was the wife of one of Carter’s four best friends.

Adding to the pressure, the boss’s daughter has a stalker. Due to the sensitivity of the Holland case, Carter is put on this investigation.

DS Marie Evans is the only person Carter can confide in. But even she begins to doubt whether he can really cope and whether he is actually losing his mind.

As the mysteries grow deeper, Jackman & Evans face a battle to untangle three mysteries, and can they really believe their friend and colleague Carter?

THE DETECTIVES
DS Marie Evans lost her husband in a motorbike accident and has personal connections to the case. DI Jackman leads the team. He is extremely smart and has a knack for bringing out the best in his diverse team.

THIS BOOK IS NOT PART OF THE NIKKI GALENA SERIES BUT TAKES PLACE IN THE SAME STUNNING AREA

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Sarah A. Denzil, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

ALSO BY JOY ELLIS
THE NIKKI GALENA SERIES
Book 1: CRIME ON THE FENS
Book 2: SHADOW OVER THE FENS
Book 3: HUNTED ON THE FENS
Book 4: KILLER ON THE FENS
Book 5: STALKER ON THE FENS
Book 6: CAPTIVE ON THE FENS
Book 7: BURIED ON THE FENS

JACKMAN & EVANS
Book 1: THE MURDERER’S SON
Book 2: THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS
Book 3: THE FOURTH FRIEND

9781912106868

My thoughts:

The novel opens with Detective Carter McLean and four of his friends flying in a small jet. They are flying out to Amsterdam for one of the groups Stag Dos. Within moments, the plane crashes, and Carter is the only survivor.

Jump forward 18 months, and Carter returns to work. He believes he must fulfil a task for each of his friends.

There are two main cases ongoing in the team. Carter is assigned with one of his colleagues (Detective Superintendent Marie Evans) to one – the stalking of the Superintendent’s Niece. The other case is the one Carter really wants in on, as it involves the wife of one of his friends. She has been missing for 18 months. But does Carter want to help with the case for the right reasons?

Whilst this is Book 3 in the Jackman and Evans series, it was the first I have read, and it most definitely works as a standalone. There was a character list at the back with a background on each of the characters, and I never became confused with the different voices.

I enjoyed the setting and pace of the novel. It had enough twists to keep me going, but not so many I was confused.

I look forward to reading another book by Joy Ellis soon!

I gave this book 4* out of 5*

*Thank you to Joffe Books for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review*

Joy+and+the+boys+039+(1)

Author bio:

“I was born in Kent but spent most of my working life in London and Surrey. I was an apprentice florist to Constance Spry Ltd, a prestigious Mayfair shop that throughout the sixties and seventies teemed with both royalty and ‘real’ celebrities. What an eye-opener for a working-class kid from the Garden of England! I swore then, probably whilst I was scrubbing the floor or making the tea, that I would have a shop of my own one day. It took until the early eighties, but I did it. Sadly the recession wiped us out, and I embarked on a series of weird and wonderful jobs; the last one being a bookshop manager. Surrounded by books all day, getting to order whatever you liked, and being paid for it! Oh bliss!

And now I live in a village in the Lincolnshire Fens with my partner, Jacqueline, and our two second generation Springer spaniels. I had been writing mysteries for years but never had the time to take it seriously. Now I can, and as my partner is a highly decorated retired police officer; my choice of genre was suddenly clear. I have set my crime thrillers here in the misty fens because I sincerely love the remoteness and airy beauty of the marshlands. This area is steeped in superstitions and lends itself so well to murder!”

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Blog Tour – The Fourth Friend, by Joy Ellis #Review @JoffeBooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s