Blog Tour: Breaking Bones, by Robert White @robwhite247 @EndeavourPress #Review #BreakingBones

Today I’m delighted to be sharing my thoughts on “Breaking Bones”, Robert White’s latest novel.

Breaking_Bones FINAL.jpg

About the book:

The streets of Preston are alive with music and banter.

But nothing can drown out the sound of breaking bones.

Inseparable since childhood and feared by their community, Tony, Eddie and Frankie are beyond the reach of justice.

The brutal gang, The Three Dogs, are a law unto themselves.

Detective Jim Hacker has watched The Dogs grow from thuggish youths to psychotic criminals. He seems to be the only one who wants to see their empire fall.

Meanwhile Jamie Strange, a young Royal Marine, finds himself embroiled in the lives of The Three Dogs when his girlfriend, Laurie Holland, cuts off their engagement… to be with the most dangerous of The Dogs: Frankie Verdi.

Jamie vows to save Laurie, before Frankie damns them both.

Every dog will have its day.

This gritty, addictive crime story, fizzes with the energy of the eighties.

Breaking Bones will appeal to fans of Martina Cole, Roberta Kray and Stephen Leather.

Breaking Bones.jpg

My thoughts:

The novel mostly revolves around a criminal gang, “The Three Dogs”, Frankie Verdi, Tony Thompson and Eddie Williams, and their lives of gangland crime. It is told in diary format starting in the late 70’s to the mid 80’s.

There are also small inputs from others – Detective Jim Hacker, who has seen them grow up, and would like to see them fall, his friend Robert Strange, and his son, Jamie, and Jamie’s best friend Richard “Bird” Valance.

I really enjoyed this book. It had me hooked from page one. I was a little concerned that with it being set in a gang community there would be too much violence, but there was enough information without being too gory.

I particularly liked the chapters that were away from the gang, which talked about Jamie and Richard being involved in the Royal Marines and being involved with the Troubles in Ireland at the time. I couldn’t say how realistic it all was as I was only born in 1980.

I’d never come across Robert White as an author before, and I look forward to reading more of his work.

Overall, a fast paced great read. 4*.

Robert White.jpg

About the author:

Born in Leeds, England, the illegitimate son of a jazz musician and a factory girl, Robert White grew up hating school and was a regular truant. Joining Lancashire Constabulary in 1980 changed his life. He served for fifteen years, his specialism being close protection and tactical firearms. Robert then spent four years in the Middle East where he took up a training role, working alongside retired members of the UK and US military. Robert White’s novels regularly appear in Amazon’s top ten bestselling Crime and Action and Adventure charts. He captures the brutality of northern British streets in his work, combining believable characters, slick plots and vivid dialogue to immerse the reader in his fast-paced story-lines.

Author Links:

Website  Twitter  Facebook

Publisher Links:

Website  Twitter  Facebook

Breaking_Bones.jpg

Advertisements

One thought on “Blog Tour: Breaking Bones, by Robert White @robwhite247 @EndeavourPress #Review #BreakingBones

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s