Blog Tour: A Map of The Dark, by Karen Ellis @katialief @MulhollandUK #mapofthedark #Review

Today I’m thrilled to be taking part in the Blog Tour for the exciting “A Map of The Dark”, which was published on January 11th!

Blog Tour Poster RGB.JPG

About the book:

A girl, missing
A woman, searching
A killer, planning…

A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter.

FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people.
She knows how it feels to be lost…

Though her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, Elsa cannot refuse a call for help. A teenage girl has gone missing from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads hides the fact that she did not go willingly.

With each passing hour, as the hunt for Ruby deepens into a search for a man who may have been killing for years, the case starts to get underneath Elsa’s skin. Everything she has buried – her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother’s death – threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.

In order to save the missing girl, she may have to lose herself…and return to the darkness she’s been hiding from for years.

My thoughts:

*Thank you to the publishers for an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review*

The book opens with FBI Agent Elsa Myers visiting her father, who is ill in hospital and dying of cancer. It is her day off, but she is called to a missing child case. She meets up with Detective Lex Cole. He has specifically requested her help as it’s his first missing child case.

Ruby Haverstock has been missing since Friday evening, and it is now Sunday. She is not known to be a problem child.

In between the search, Elsa is back and forth to her father, trying to support her niece and dealing with her personal past, which is in the forefront of her mind with her father dying.

Will they find Ruby in time? You’ll have to read the book and find out!

I really like both the characters of Elsa and Lex. You don’t find out very much about Lex, but he is a really good source of support to Elsa. Elsa’s back story is well thought out and presented, and she is a complex character.

The book is told in semi diary format – each section has a day of the week. I found the pace frustratingly slow, but I appreciate that must be how it is in missing child cases. When there are moments of tension, it is done really well.

I found it overall a really well plotted book, and would definitely recommend it. I gave it 4*.

35605410

About the author:

Karen Ellis is the pseudonym of Katia Lief, the author of several internationally best-selling crime novels including The Money Kill, which was nominated for the Mary Higgins Clark Award, and One Cold Night which was one of the UK’s top-selling digital publications in 2012.

Advertisements

One thought on “Blog Tour: A Map of The Dark, by Karen Ellis @katialief @MulhollandUK #mapofthedark #Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s