Blog Tour: Killer Lies, by Chris Collett #Review @JoffeBooks @crime_crow

Today I’m delighted to have been asked to close down the Blog Tour for Chris Collett’s latest novel, “Killer Lies”.

BLOG TOUR BANNER - Killer Lies.jpg

About the book:

Do you love gripping police procedurals with great characters?

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.

‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.’ Yorkshire Post

Just when DI Tom Mariner seems to be settling down with his new girlfriend . . . everything kicks off.

First, a badly decomposed body of a young woman is found in a Birmingham sewer. The police can’t identify her and dub her “Madeleine.”

Then an important politician and his wife are shot on an isolated road.

And finally, a bomb explosion in the busy city kills 5 people, causing chaos and panic.

Can Detective Mariner and his team get to the bottom of crimes that will come very close to home for his team.
Mariner will need to bend the rules and risk everything to get to the truth. And in a thrilling conclusion, his own life will be at risk.

Discover an absorbing crime mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the third book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

THE DETECTIVE
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

PLEASE NOTE: THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “WRITTEN IN BLOOD”

My thoughts:

The book opens with the discovery of a local and well liked politician, his wife and chauffeur being discovered dead on a countryside lane. It’s followed fairly rapidly by an explosion in the city centre. Tom Mariner is caught in the explosion but isn’t hurt so helps with the recovery operation. Special Branch are in charge of both investigations, but Mariner is haunted by the explosion, and it causes problems between him and his partner, Anna. Mariner is meant to be investigating the decomposed body of a decomposed female found in a sewer, but because he is forced to take time off following the explosion, it’s more of a supervisory role.

Something comes to light in the politician case which leads to Mariner becoming obsessed with it. He won’t talk about it to anyone, but how far will he go, and how much danger is he in for seeking the truth?

I’m going to admit to being disappointed with the book at first. I prefer a book with one main plot and maybe one secondary plot, this felt like juggling with one thing too many. It felt weird not having Mariner in charge of a case. It took a while to reach its stride, but when it did get going I couldn’t put it down.

Mariner is a likeable character but he tends not to confide in many people. Anna is used to him dealing with stress by pushing her away, but both tempers fray as they push each other further and further apart.

This is the third in the Mariner series, but can easily be read alone. I have only read books two and three and do not feel like I have missed out.

Overall, I gave it 3*.

Killer lies cover JPG

About the author:

Chris Collett grew up in a Norfolk seaside town where she worked in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). Graduating in Liverpool, Chris has since taught children and adults with varying degrees of learning disability, including autism. She is now a university lecturer, with two grown up children, and lives in Birmingham; DI Tom Mariner’s ‘patch’. She has published short stories, teaches creative and crime writing and is a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

The first five DI Tom Mariner books will be released in revised editions by Joffe Books in 2017/2018.

Website   Facebook   Twitter

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Killer Lies, by Chris Collett #Review @JoffeBooks @crime_crow

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s