Blog Blitz: Death on the River, by Clare Chase #Review @ClareChase @bookouture

Hello everyone!

Delighted to be taking part in the Blog Blitz for the fantastic “Death on the River”, by Clare Chase.

Death on the River - Blog Tour.jpg

About the book:

Meet Tara Thorpe – she’s Cambridge Police’s newest recruit… but her dark past is never far behind her. Perfect for fans of Faith Martin, LJ Ross and Joy Ellis.

When a body is pulled from the dank and dangerous fens on the outskirts of town, everybody assumes it was a tragic accident. But Detective Tara Thorpe, newly joined and determined to prove herself, suspects there’s more to the story.

Tara is desperate to investigate further, but her supervisor Patrick Wilkins has other ideas. He would rather die than let this ambitious upstart show him up – even if it means some digging in Tara’s secret past to keep her under his thumb. After all, it’s not like he can report her – everyone knows that his boss Detective Garstin Blake and Tara have a history…

When another body is found, it becomes clear that there’s a killer on the loose. Could the murders be linked to the secrets that Tara has been keeping from her team… and can she solve the case before another innocent dies?

An unputdownable page-turner that will keep you hooked until the very last page!

Death-on-the-River-Kindle

My thoughts:

This is the second book in the Tara Thorpe series, but four years have passed since we first saw her. She was a journalist, now she’s joined the Police – and ended up working in exactly the same team who she was involved with as a journalist.

This time, the body of Ralph Cairncross is pulled from the fens. It’s ruled as an accident, but his sister disagrees. She finds Tara thanks to an article in the paper she previously worked for. Although Tara wasn’t involved in the initial investigation, she agrees to look into it. Before long, a friend of Ralph’s is dead. A coincidence? Or are they linked?

I’ll admit that I was a little disappointed when I found out Tara would not be returning as a journalist. However, not long into the book, and whilst her job may have changed, I soon realised that nothing had really changed! And the change in job and time frame means it can easily be read as a standalone – although I do recommend reading the first too!

I did find the first few chapters a bit slow going, however the pace soon picked up and I found myself being unable to put the book down. I also enjoyed the diary entries from the killer.

Tara is a likeable character. She brings all her investigative skills as a journalist into the Police, and her warmth shines through the page.

Highly recommended. 5*

Buy here

Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 08.22.58.png

About the author:

Clare Chase writes women sleuth mysteries and recently signed a three-book deal with Bookouture for a new crime series set in Cambridge. The opening book, Murder on the Marshes, is available now. The mystery follows investigative journalist Tara Thorpe as she teams up with Detective Garstin Blake to solve the murder of a young female professor at Cambridge University. The case takes them through the dark underbelly of Cambridge and in to the murky fens that surround the centuries-old city. The second and third books in the series are scheduled for publication in late 2018/early 2019.

After graduating from London University with a degree in English Literature, Clare moved to Cambridge and has lived there ever since. She’s fascinated by the city’s contrasts and contradictions, which feed into her writing. She’s worked in diverse settings – from the 800-year-old University to one of the local prisons – and lived everywhere from the house of a Lord to a slug-infested flat. The terrace she now occupies, with her husband and teenage children, presents a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

Clare’s debut novel, You Think You Know Me, was shortlisted for the Novelicious Undiscovered Award 2012, and an EPIC award in 2015. It was also chosen as a debut of the month by Lovereading.

Links:

Website  Twitter  Facebook  Goodreads

Advertisements

One thought on “Blog Blitz: Death on the River, by Clare Chase #Review @ClareChase @bookouture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s